Day 223: When God Gives you Life.

They say that when life gives you lemons, you should make lemonade. But they don’t mention that in the box of ‘life lemons’, you could get a real mix of good and bad, even mushy mouldy lemons – because all it says on the box is “Lemons”.

All you can do is rely on the fact you’ve been told to make lemonade.

And that is how I think of relying on God. We get given the life we have, and regardless of what comes in the box, we are told to make the best of it. Relying on God is hard though, way harder than I ever expected.

Before now, I’d only ever had to rely on God to get me through exams or days where I had around 200 meetings & realistically needed a Time Turner to be able to do anything. I’d just pray that the 5 minute gap between a meeting in church and a meeting in uni would miraculously extend to half an hour.

Surprisingly, sometimes this happened (though I mostly put that down to the time-keeping skills of my fellow students).

Nowadays, I have to rely on God for much bigger things – that I’ll be able to save up enough to be relatively okay when I’m married, that I’ll have a job that is stable and that I love.

These things seem rather easy to obtain when you’re sat in your pyjamas eating pasta and pesto in bed listening to a lecture you’ve never been to, because anything is an improvement on that. And I could trust in God to provide better than that. But more and more, life seems to be hurtling my way, and I’ve had to resort to the old adage, ‘Let go & let God’.

It sounds so cheesy, I hated typing that.

But sometimes I think God uses these times of uncertainty. He uses them to shape and mould us into beings that can and do lean on Him & trust Him.

I feel very scared sometimes that I don’t know what I’m going to be doing in the next year or so. But also very comforted, because I know that it’s not my plan that will be the best one, and things will turn out for the best.

We all look back on events and see that in amongst the chaos, things were working themselves out.

So even though I feel like I’m careering down the road with so much uncertainty, I know I’m exactly where I’m meant to be.

Leave a Reply

